AT&T All-Time High Of Activations. 5.2 Million iPhones Activated During Summer.


AT&T revealed the extent of Apple’s U.S. iPhone sales with an all-time best of activations. The carrier activated 5.2 million iPhones in the early weeks of the iPhone 4 launch. The number was vital to AT&T, which added a total of 2.6 million customers to hit 92.8 million total; it may have lost customers without the iPhone’s presence.

The smartphone contributed to many of AT&T’s other improvements. iPhones made up the majority of the eight million “integrated devices” that were switched on during the quarter, which also included messaging phones. It helped push the category to become more than half of AT&T’s regular subscription base and kept the average revenue per person to $63. Its revenue from data plans, even with the new capped tiers, grew 30.5 percent, while 21.5 percent more users had data plans at all.

Having the iPhone gave the carrier its best-ever churn (customer turnover) rate at 1.32 percent, dipping as low as 1.14 percent for the traditional subscribers that include iPhone owners.

More at Electronista

10 thoughts on “AT&T All-Time High Of Activations. 5.2 Million iPhones Activated During Summer.

  1. Reading this reminds me of my previous room mate. That guy was one of the smartest individuals I know, but he was a little weird for my tastes though. Anyways I loved reading this, thanks. Will give me something to discuss when I see him.

  2. Couldn’t be written any more effective. Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He frequently kept talking about this. I will send this blog post to him. Pretty sure he will have a great read. Cheers for sharing! My best regards, Oscar.

  3. Hi there! Is it fine that I go a bit off topic? I’m making an attempt to see your article on my ipad but it doesn’t display properly, do you have any recommendations? Kudos. Yours trully, Vivian.

Leave a Reply

