RIM Announces Blackberry PlayBook [Competition for Apple?]


Blackberry PlayBookRIM is entering the tablet with what they are calling the BlackBerry PlayBook. It was already clear that RIM was coming out with a tablet  named BlackPad; now it’s gotten worse… they name it the PlayBook. The PlayBook appears to be a primarily business focused machine, all though the official Website shows the PlayBook with the Popular EA Need For Speed Shift application. RIM definitely needs to get their details right!

Let’s look at all of the Specs:

  • 7″ LCD, 1024 x 600, WSVGA, capacitive touch screen with full multi-touch and gesture support
  • BlackBerry Tablet OS with support for symmetric multiprocessing
  • 1 GHz dual-core processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • Dual HD cameras (3 MP front facing, 5 MP rear facing), supports 1080p HD video recording
  • Video playback: 1080p HD Video, H.264, MPEG, DivX, WMV
  • Audio playback: MP3, AAC, WMA
  • HDMI video output
  • Wi-Fi – 802.11 a/b/g/n
  • Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR
  • Connectors: microHDMI, microUSB, charging contacts
  • Open, flexible application platform with support for WebKit/HTML-5, Adobe Flash Player 10.1, Adobe Mobile AIR, Adobe Reader, POSIX, OpenGL, Java
  • Ultra thin and portable:
  • Measures 5.1″x7.6″x0.4″ (130mm x 193mm x 10mm)
  • Weighs less than a pound (approximately 0.9 lb or 400g)
  • Additional features and specifications of the BlackBerry PlayBook will be shared on or before the date this product is launched in retail outlets.

It looks like the PlayBook is 3″ smaller than the Apple iPad, & will be the same size as the Samsung Galaxy Tab coming out later this year. The Specs that stand out the most are Video playback @ 1080p (Which is amazing!), the Flash 10.1 Support, which will allow the PlayBook to access an abundance of more web pages than the iPad,& last but not least we have all the connectors (MicroUSB, MicroHDMI, etc…). All these Specs show what the Apple iPad can’t do. In my opinion all the “Apple” Competitors are trying to make their product better than the iPad. We all know that Apple is the absolute King of marketing, that’s why the iPad is so “Big”. Everyone’s making a big deal about the iPad, but if you think about it, the iPad can’t manage “That” much! I think it’s a good thing that there’s competitors that want to claim the “Spotlight”. It will provide Apple with a chance to make the iPad better, & I think this would benefit all of us really.

Are you interested in the BlackBerry PlayBook? What is you opinion? Tell us in the comments.

3 thoughts on “RIM Announces Blackberry PlayBook [Competition for Apple?]

  1. It’s only about my passion on gadgets things, and I would like to post it on my own blog, but I can’t make my blog as good as this one. I’ve been going to a lot of site from every where, searching another blog references, articles etc, I like this blog and I believe this is effect of your blogging activities hardwork, But I will try to make it better than ever, I hope you would be my blog friend, God bless you my friend, and thanks for let me comment, from the bottom of my heart. Regards.

  2. Thank You for your positivity! I appreciate your kind comments toward my blog. Of course you can make your blog a success! Your blog is as good as anyone else’s. I hope everything works out fine for you & your blog.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

